The ASMA Scholar Lifetime Achievement Award was an honor bestowed upon a person to recognize a career of continual and significant contributions to the field of sport management. Consistent with ASMA’s mission of building strong connections between scholars studying sport and practitioners working in the sport industry, award recipients are specifically recognized for their efforts to make an impact on policies and practices in sport through research, teaching, and service.

In 2022, the Scholar Lifetime Achievement Award was renamed and repurposed to the Distinguished Service Award. The ASMA Distinguished Service Award recognizes an ASMA member on a yearly basis who has exhibited continued, exemplary service to ASMA, the application of sport management, and/or a dedication to students and mentorship. Specifically, the recipients will have demonstrated these qualities through their association with ASMA.

The ASMA Research Fellow Award recognizes scholars who have demonstrated a commitment to ASMA and its vision as well as distinction in applied sport management research. This award honors the scholarly contributions these researchers have disseminated through the ASMA conference and its official journal, the Journal of Applied Sport Management (JASM). Publication and presentation requirements must be met to apply for the award.

Sadly, 2021 saw the passing of Dr. Samantha Roberts. She was a beloved member of the ASMA community. Sam had a strong passion for student development and mentorship. In 2022, the case study competition was renamed to honor Dr. Roberts and her service to the sport management discipline as the Dr. Samantha Roberts Case Study Competition Winners

%d bloggers like this:
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close